My Teaching Values


Be supportive, nurture and lead with honesty, strength of character and by example.

I believe in the need for a quality learning environment which fosters trust and encourages students to achieve.
I value being a positive role model that supports students learning, and builds supportive student-teacher relationships.
In my classroom I don’t want to just teach students about my subject matter,
I want them to learn about how to develop their own strength of character through success, confidence and motivation.
In a classroom where the student directs their learning led by a supportive teacher, I believe the students are then able to make more meaningful connections with
the content and their world. Because I was inspired by my teachers, uni lecturers and prac supervisors; who all provided a supportive environment that allowed me to blossom; I value being
a teacher that students admire and want to learn from. I believe that students need a teacher who they can be inspired by too, so that their learning becomes
an enjoyable experience that they remember.

Results are not judged by numerical value, but by achievements.

Resullts provide students with a measure against their peers and a scale of how well they have achieved the syllabus outcomes. Student engagement does not always have a
numerical value. Being in the classroom with students who have achieved something more than they thought they could results in a smile and a sense of accomplishment.
I don’t believe that you always have to come first to define success. It all depends what you take away from the lesson learnt.
While the goal in high school is to achieve a UAI result that will get you into the university course that you want, there are so many things that you cannot measure that are learnt along the way.
Because I didn’t achieve the HSC results that I thought that I wanted, but I still paved my way to a career that I am passionate about and could not imagine not doing, I value teaching
my students to look beyond the the marks and enjoy the process of learning. I believe that all students can achieve something, it is just that we cannot always quantify what
that is. It is sometimes something more valuable than a grade.

Give all students the tools to understand and succeed.

Combine my passion for the subject with frameworks to help develop deep understanding of art and the world.

Without scaffolding, many students do not know how to reach the expectations that we set. As teachers, we cannot assume that students know how to create the outcomes that we set.Writing essays for example and making connections between concepts and artworks does not come instinctively to all students in the classroom. Students also need to learn subject specific metalanguage and how to use it correctly. By guiding students learning and giving them opportunities to succeed through modeling language and teacher guided questions, I believe that students will develop deeper and longer lasting knowledge of art and artists that we study. Because I have been given opportunities throughout my career by role models and peers to develop an understanding of different aspects of teaching and art, I value the need to give my students as many opportunities to achieve through structure that allow them to make the most out of each learning opportunity. By providing a variety of approaches and methods that can lead to success and the chance to make more meaningful
connections with the content and art making.

Trust will lead to inspiration.

Giving students’ autonomy in their learning will inspire them to be the best they can.

I believe that students need to learn how to learn for themselves. While I facilitate and provide the frameworks to achieve, I teach my students
independent practices that will last beyond my classroom. When students have a sense of ownership over their learning they take pride in the outcomes
they produce. If you trust students to learn from their mistakes and teach them to self reflect, I believe that many students will make more meaningful connections to the outcomes.
Instead of striving to achieve for the teacher, autonomous learning means students learn for themselves and aim to achieve their personal best.
Because I was trusted by my peers to develop new programs and to teach Stage 6 from the onset of my career, I value the chance to give students the chance to
direct their own learning in a positive environment.

About missjessm

Art. Teaching. Design. Life. View all posts by missjessm

Leave a Reply

