To Teach is to Learn

IMG_4482

I am at an interesting point in my career….

I love what I do… but I want to do more! I feel like  have a lot to offer other teachers and sometimes my brain feels like it is going to explode with all the ideas that I have that I want to try. I have been so lucky with the experiences and opportunities that I have had in my school. I guess I am one of those keen beans who gets asked to participate in lots of different things. This has then led to the development of my own ideas, new approaches to the classroom and changes in my teaching values.

Last week I was inspired by two things. These things have made me further think about what I am going to do in the future.

ONE

I have often wondered why I thrive off being given new challenges. Many mornings I walk past my Deputy Principals office and she stops me… “Jess….. I have this idea…….”. For the past 8 years I have been at Mosman High School, I have accomplished a lot of things and am always busy.

It began with a literacy project, then the completion of my NSWIT accreditation and involvement in an Element 5 professional development project for this, then I did my Masters of Cross Disciplinary Art and Design for 3 years, had a studio residency and an art exhibition, have been involved with different technology roll outs, gone to and presented at MANY conferences, worked towards and received the Ministers Quality Teaching Award, done my maintenance of accreditation, have been teaching Year 12 HSC Visual Arts, done HSC marking, have been teaching the GATS class and have gotten engaged and married.

This is just a brief summary of my accomplishments – but I won’t bore you with more!

After watching this TED talk by Kelly McGonigal, I realised that I have embraced the stress around me – and I LOVE it! It opens my mind and it inspires me to do new and better things.

TWO

In a staff meeting last week, two colleagues presented on their learning at the GATE Conference. At first I was frustrated and annoyed… and then I was sort of happy.

Why?

Well, they were focussing on differentiation and some strategies they had heard about at the conference. Then one teacher was saying how she had learnt about ideas that focussed on a student- centered classroom. And that she was slowly trying to change her approach to how she teaches, getting students to ask the questions instead of her. This annoyed me at first, because I have been saying this for at least 2-3 years when I present to staff!!!! But then I was happy, because FINALLY, maybe, a shift was happening! The teacher commented that it takes 2 years for reflecting and change to happen…. and she claimed she was only at the beginning of her journey!

IMG_9058

*sigh*

Thinking about these things made me think of this graph:

A graph of Everett Rogers Technology Adoption Lifecycle model

A graph of Everett Rogers Technology Adoption Lifecycle model

I wonder where to from here?

Change is slow, despite the forces that push for it to happen. And it is frustrating for me, out here, by myself, seeing how this change can be good. (I am not really by myself – there are many people like me, and I am not discounting the role they play in my life – this is just a figure of speech!)

I believe that as I teach, I learn. I am inspired to try new things and this has led to some exciting lessons in my classroom.

IMG_9388

I like to take risks and challenge my students think creatively and problem solve. I have embraced technology and the potentials that this offers. Now I want to see a shift into more blended learning with cross KLA projects and collaboration across schools and across the world. I have researched differentiation, Project Based Learning, collaboration, Games Based Learning, gifted and talented strategies, an array of assessment strategies and creative thinking.

So, for the future, I see myself as a leader who wants to make change happen. But this is not as easy as it may seem. What type of leader should I be?? Where can I be most effective? Would I miss the classroom? Would I miss my school? Does the role that I think I want even exist? Would I be a good leader??? These are crashing through my brain right now. I think I can only do so much within my classroom context and see potential for more.

I think I am lucky to have a great PLN around me and great friends to keep me stimulated… but I will still keep looking for an answer to my conundrum…

To teach is to learn. 

About missjessm

Art. Teaching. Design. Life. View all posts by missjessm

5 responses to “To Teach is to Learn

  • @sailpip Phillip

    Jess
    The thing I find interesting from your (great) post, is that you are asking the world questions that most people only keep in their head (or share with close confidants). I love this open honesty, and this is one if your strengths.

    So do you want to lead from within or from outside the system? Do you want to change your class, faculty, school or world? So many questions, so many possibilities.

    I do know the future is already here! You are already a leader, you are already influencing people, you are already causing change. Over time your influence with increase.

    Thank-you for your leadership in so many areas. Keep on this path, teaching needs people like you.

    • missjessm

      I wish I knew what I wanted…. But thank you for your encouragement and belief in me! :)

      I know I could easily keep doing what I am doing where I am doing it… But I think I want a new challenge…!!!

  • Malyn Mawby (@malynmawby)

    You’ve been leading for a while and it does sound like you’re ready for a new challenge that perhaps only a new environment can bring. This may be a new school or perhaps ex-school – whatever that may mean.

    Good luck. I’ve no doubt that you’ll get there, where ever ‘there’ is, and perhaps more importantly, you will enjoy the journey. Perhaps, it isn’t about the there, but rather the journey itself.

    • missjessm

      I do fear a change at the same time, as the grass may not really be greener…. So am also trying to make my context more challenging….
      But yes- something new may be the answer- who knows! Lets see what the future holds! :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,913 other followers

